This is an archived static version of the original phylobabble.org discussion site.

Matrix Data types

pterror

I’m new to all of this and I’m having trouble finding out how to combine continuous and discrete data into the same matrix, or if that’s even possible. I’m using Mesquite- is it a problem to insert discrete data into a continous data matrix? I have the continuous data scaled from 0 to 1. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

tsmoreira

Hello

Yes it is possible, but I do not know how to do it (since I never used continuous characters in my analysis…). As far as I could grasp from the manual you may have to create a separate matrix for those characters and concatenate with the one with the discrete one… but might be easier ways. Mesquite is not very friendly user unfortunately so takes a while to get the grip of it.

rutgeraldo

What you are talking about is ‘mixed’ data, i.e. matrices having multiple different data types in the same NEXUS characters (or data) block. The NEXUS standard does not allow this: characters blocks have a statement format datatype=<type> where <type> should be a single word, which I’ve seen in the wild as one of ‘dna’, ‘standard’, ‘protein’, ‘continuous’, ‘restriction’, ‘rna’ or ‘nucleotide’.

The only program that tries to circumvent this is MrBayes, which hacks the standard to become something like format datatype=mixed(<type1>:<range1>,<type2>:<range2>,...), where <type> is again a single word and <range> is a 1-based inclusive pair of start and stop coordinates. This syntax is incomprehensible to basically all other NEXUS readers. Specifically, Mesquite does not support this natively.

To look for examples of either, here are some illustrative google searches: