This is an archived static version of the original phylobabble.org discussion site.

Geophylogenies using GeoJSON

rdmpage

I’ve been experimenting with drawing “geophylogenies” on web maps and have created a live demo at GeoJSON phylogeny demo All a bit crude, but the idea is to take either a NEXUS tree file with added geographical coordinates, or query the BOLD database of DNA barcodes (most of which are geotagged) and create an interactive phylogeny on a map. The demo uses OpenStreeMap, I’ve code for Google Maps as well (hope to add this to the demo shortly). The layout borrows from GenGIS (see GenGIS: A geospatial information system for genomic data and The GenGIS wiki ) but doesn’t need a standalone program. There are some other advantages to using GeoJSON, such as storage in document databases like CouchDB, but I’ll blog about these.

To give you a sense of the visualisation, below is the classic Banza example that I used in 2007 when I started playing with trees on Google Earth iPhylo: Google Earth phylogenies, inspired by Bill Piel’s pioneering experiments.

rob_beiko

Looks good! We’ve been asked a few times to put together a Web version of GenGIS, but have never been able to prioritize this idea. Ditto for BOLD, although we’ve had lots of fun with GBIF (which is not perfect of course, but has its uses)

I think it would be very exciting if we could push data into this, or pull data down from it into GenGIS. Please keep sharing your examples!

rdmpage